Support Death by Dollface’s Walk for Autism!

dollface

SVRG’s charity for our May bout is Autism Speaks, and several of our team members will be walking on May 30.

As a team, we are trying to raise $1,500, and we need your help in meeting that goal! You can visit our team site to donate, or follow the link to donate on Death by Dollface’s personal page. Here is what she has to say about her Walk for Autism:

“It is more blessed to give than to receive.” –Acts 20:35

This verse is probably the most familiar Bible lesson known to Christians and non-Christians alike. The balance between giving and receiving has steered my passion for philanthropy.

As a professional fundraiser for a private nonprofit university, I have found a career that I am passionate about, involving a philanthropic nature that is tied to our community. The mission and values that are held by my institution directly line up with those values that I live my life by and through being a part of the Development Office I have the opportunity to allow students who may not be able to pay the hefty tuition out of pocket. I began my fundraising career in high school. At the time I had a very dear friend who had suffered from cancer at an early age and lost a leg. I ran a successful campaign and became very drawn to philanthropy. Through these experiences I feel that I can give hope or assistance to people who progress through hope built on the efforts extended by people who care.

As President of the Silicon Valley Roller Girls I can extend this passion to connect a group of diverse but like-minded girls to their community. Each month we sponsor a different cause that is chosen by our league and nominated by a skater. As a professional driven by passion for my own causes, it is invaluable to see the same passion grow out of my team.

Leave a comment

Filed under Community Service, Off the Rink

Leave a Reply

