Skater of the Month: Feisty Irish

santa cruz

Feisty Irish is as known for her fierceness on the rink as she is for her congeniality off the rink. She is also known as one of our most acrobatic skaters, frequently competing with Coach LTO in crazy racing and jumping competitions.

How did you get into roller derby?

Roller derby found me. I had it on my list of things to do. I woke up one morning and there was a flyer in my living room.

What kind of skating skills or athletic abilities did you have before starting derby?

I would play any sport that would take me. I have played on volleyball, track, basketball, softball, swim, rugby, and cross country teams before finding my favorite: roller derby!

How did you derive your derby name?

I have been known to get a little feisty, and I blame it on my father’s genes.

What is your primary position?

Blocker, but I would like to be good enough to play all the positions.

What is your greatest strength as a skater?

I like to work as a team.

What was your worst injury, and how did you earn it?

Broken nose! (Coupled with two black eyes)

What team would you want to challenge in your “dream bout”?

San Diego Derby Dolls, because I am from SD and that way I would have a whole feisty fan section. 🙂

Who’s your biggest fan?

My mom.

What’s the one piece of advice you would give women interested in playing roller derby?

It will change your life for the better. Don’t be intimated. Have fun!

What’s your favorite thing about SVRG?

I started when the league was still new, so I have had a chance to bond and grow with the team. I will always bleed green and black. SVRG for vida!

What do you enjoy most about derby life *off* the rink?

The friendships I have made and my amazing roommate!

How do you spend the non-derby part of your life?

I go to school full time for Occupational Therapy at San Jose State and currently work as a nanny. I like to be social, active, and enjoy life. Does drinking count as a hobby? 😉

Feisty (middle) at the ready against Santa Cruz.

Feisty (middle) at the ready against Santa Cruz.

Leave a comment

Filed under Skater of the Month, SVRG Skaters

Leave a Reply

