Skater of the Month: Double Easy

Easy Action Shot

Life at SVRG just hasn’t been the same since our indomitable Double Easy left for Colorado. We are happy to honor our blammer (’cause yeah, she blocks AND jams) as August’s Skater of the Month!

How did you get into roller derby?

I went roller skating for fun on my birthday and liked it so much that I looked up roller rinks in the area the next day. I found an ad for roller derby on San Jose Skate’s website. After reading about it on Wikipedia, I decided it was for me and showed up to practice that night!

What kind of skating skills or athletic abilities did you have before starting derby?

I played ping-pong…and I was captain of the b-team for basketball in my 6th grade class. I could make free throws, but that was it.

How did you derive your derby name?

I’m a double E–electrical engineer! And my number 238 is EE (hex) in decimal. I like to tell people it’s also my bra size.

What is your primary position?

When people ask, I say I play every position. I love when I get a chance to block, but I also love the feeling of flying through a pack while jamming.

What is your greatest strength as a skater?

I’m not particularly fast or strong, so I can’t race or plow my way through the pack. I have to just use all I’ve got, which are my wits and my blockers.

What is your favorite derby memory?

Scoring 72 points at our game against Fresno!

Who are your favorite derby skaters?

Oh boy. Get ready for a long list. Burly Bot – she was my first derby idol from when I was just getting into derby; she’s just a consistently great jammer. Demanda Riot – not only a great skater, but just a maniac for the sport. That woman goes to every camp, every scrimmage, every bout she’s invited to! Bonnie Thunders and Suzy Hotrod – they’re jumpers! Trish the Dish – she’s like a moving brick wall. Pia Mess – excellent at both blocking and jamming; I aspire to be like her one day. Wile E. Peyote – tiny girl, big hits. Juliet Bravo – she really knows how to use a wide stance. Rice Rocket – If you think she’s just an amazing jammer, watch the Gotham/Texas game. Teflon Donna – I heard when she first started skating 2 years ago she could barely stand on her skates. Now she’s one of the best in the world. I hope that’s gonna be me one day!

What team would you want to challenge in your “dream bout”?

I think Philly has the best teamwork in the sport. I would love to learn from them!

What’s the one piece of advice you would give women interested in playing roller derby?

It will take over your life. And you will love it!!!

What’s your favorite thing about SVRG?

The sisterhood. These girls taught me how to skate!

What do you enjoy most about derby life off the rink?

Road trips are great. There’s nothing like 6 girls in a van on a 6-hour car ride. In between the numerous pee breaks are great stories.

How do you spend the non-derby part of your life?

I enjoy eating food while reading about what I’m eating on Wikipedia. I also enjoy film, linguistics, and history. I guess you could say I’m kind of a square.

1 Comment

Filed under Skater of the Month, SVRG Skaters

One response to “Skater of the Month: Double Easy

  1. Best of luck, Double Easy and the rest of the squad. For some inspiration, check out the roller derby-related videos at ahamoment.com, including this one — ahamoment.com/pg/moments/view/5312 — about the “aha moment” of a young woman who credits roller derby for saving her soul. Hope you enjoy.

    Thanks — jack@ahamoment.com

Leave a Reply

