Skater of the Month: The Beast

The Beast roars! Photo: Kelco

The Beast roars! Photo: Kelco

Anyone who has been reading my bout writeups knows how much I love to watch the force that is The Beast. We are all so happy to have her back and skating with us after she took a couple of months off earlier this year. She is one of the primary blockers on the KillaBytes and has also skated for the Dot.Kamikazes. She is a blocker extraordinaire with the power, balance, and timing to make any opponent cower in fear. Beast typically controls the back of the pack, but she’s a flexible and agile 4 with the endurance to stay cozy with the opposing jammer no matter where she is. In contrast to her fierce, unstoppable nature and  ruthless destruction on the rink, The Beast is all sugar off skates.

How did you find out about roller derby?

Dirt Nasty, a former SVRG skater, and I worked together and she told me about it one day at work.

What kind of skating skills or athletic abilities did you have before starting derby?

I was a cheerleader for most of my life, so no athletism here…

How did you derive your derby name?

My parents christened me with the name when I was 15.

What is your greatest strength as a skater and what do you contribute most to the team?

I am a solid blocker and I am always striving to learn more from my coaches and fellow teammates. I bring good communication on the rink–I am loud and will let my girls know when the other jammer is coming around.

The Beast subdues a Ventura Battalion of Skates' jammer. Photo credit: Matt Williams.

The Beast subdues a jammer from Ventura's Battalion of Skates. Photo credit: Matt Williams.

What is your favorite derby memory?

The Ventura game in July was good. It was my first official game back with SVRG and I had fun kicking ass.

What is your worst injury, and how did you earn it?

I got a concussion in September or October 2008. Lindsay Lohanded kneed the back of my head, or so she says.

Who is your favorite skater?

My mom, because she was amazing on her skates. She was agile and could jump off high stuff. She skated everywhere. She loved it and she was amazing to watch.

Who are your biggest fans?

Probably my little brother Thomas, my little sister Danika, and my Mama Beast.

What’s the one piece of advice you would give women interested in playing roller derby?

Don’t worry about the small shit like looking good in your outfit or having awesome skates or awesome socks. Just go out there and learn as much as you can and execute what you learn. Always be humble because there’s someone out there that will knock your socks off.

What’s your favorite thing about SVRG?

I love SVRG because they taught me how to trust people (my teammates) and how to become a team player. They never put me down. They always encourage each other to do your best..and they taught me to never leave a skater behind!

What do you enjoy most about derby life off the rink?

On the rink and off the rink I know my teammates got my back and I got theirs!!!

How do you spend the non-derby part of your life?

I go to school full-time at Mission College in Santa Clara because I want to become a nurse. I like eating good pizza  and cheeseburgers. I love swimming in the ocean or a lake. I am a skater bum fo’ sho–I have my skates with me 24/7 and will skate anywhere anytime!

The Beast takes out Santa Cruz's Kiki Clash...and patiently waits to do it again. Photo credit: Kelco.

The Beast takes out Santa Cruz's Kiki Clash...and patiently waits to do it again. Photo credit: Kelco.

Leave a comment

Filed under Skater of the Month, SVRG Skaters

Leave a Reply

