Meet a Jerb from Our Junior Derby Squad!

Did you miss our Junior Derby Squad, Derby 2.0, on the NBC News? If so, make sure to check it out online.

SVRG introduced our junior derby program with a summer session in 2010 to help teach girls basic skating skills, teamwork, and confidence. It was a huge success and there was a great demand by young skaters and parents—thus was born Derby 2.0, offering 8-week sessions all year round for girls aged 7-17. Girls 10 and older are eligible to play full contact roller derby. These girls are cute and fierce! Meet one of our own jerby girls, Tex Mex!

Tex Mex from SVRG's Derby 2.0

How did you first get involved in roller derby?

My mom skates for SVRG. She took me skating and I learned how to skate well. After two years of her being with SVRG, they started the Jr. League where she now coaches and I, of course, wanted to join.

How did you choose your name and number?

Tex Mex was my parents’ nickname for me and it matched my mom’s derby name, so it stuck. My number of course means I am half Mexican and half Texan.

What position do you play and what are you known for on the track?

I’m a blocker, known for my smooth stride.

What do your friends at school think about derby?

They think it’s awesome and they are a little scared of me!

What are some of the best things about being in junior derby?

It’s a place to have fun, make friends, get exercise, and be brave. I hope it gets bigger so they offer it one day at my high school.

Come Watch a Game

The girls will be playing their first full home bout at our April 2nd game, so get your tickets now at Brown Paper Tickets!

Do you know a girl who’s got the heart and guts to be a junior derby girl? Email juniorderby@svrollergirls.com for more information, or join the Jerby Girls for dinner 4-6pm on March 11th at Poor House Bistro for our Mardi Gras Fundraiser!

2 Comments

Filed under Junior Derby

2 responses to “Meet a Jerb from Our Junior Derby Squad!

  1. FearLiss

    Way to go TexMex!

  2. Cara Brechler

    You rock TexMex!!

Leave a Reply

